My friend…

For the fifth year, I’m counting down the days to the ISGB’s Gathering. I just finished an entry for Watch Me Create that will tell you all about it… you’ll be able to read that in a few days. But I have more to say…

I had no idea what I was getting into when I packed my bags and headed to Lowell, MA in 2003. I just knew I wanted to go meet the people I had been talking to on Wet Canvas and learn as much as I could about this wonderful art form. I came away with so much more.

Next week will mark the 4th anniversary of meeting Paula Canant. She has become one of my closest friends. I honestly can’t remember what my life was like before we met! Paula is truly one of a kind. She has crazy, curly red hair that matches her personality perfectly. Life is not dull when Paula’s around. Her Kentucky accent is so contagious that I know exactly who my family is talking to when they answer the phone.

Paula has a heart of gold and will do just about anything for a friend. She is generous to a fault. (Don’t tell her I told you though!) I was working on a hot head until I opened her Christmas gift a few years ago and there was a brand new Minor torch.

The first year of our friendship we managed to figure out ways to see each other every month, even though we’re separated by several states. We’ve had many adventures! Unfortunately we haven’t been able to keep up with the monthly visits, but we do talk to each other every day on the phone. Often, we have headphones on and talk for hours while sitting at our torches. Right now, she’s on vacation with her family in Mexico. I hate that I can’t pick up the phone and call her! But that’s why I thought this would be a good time to write about her. She’ll kill me when she reads this. 😉

I head off to the Gathering on Tuesday ~ unfortunately Paula’s not coming this year. But we will definitely be together in spirit (and cell phones). Happy anniversary buddy!

Be sure to visit my website: www.nancysellsglass.com

4 responses to “My friend…

  1. I only had the “Paula” experience once and it’s still very clear in my memory. I sure hope I get to see her again. Is she coming to our expo?

  2. I love you too buddy!!!!!

    Now to figure out a way to get ya back…smooches!!!

  3. I’m very happy to also count Paula as one of my friends, and can verify that everything Nancy said is true. But she forgot to mention how talented Paula is…her beads and jewelry are breathtaking and her ability to cuss a blue streak is awe inspiring. 🙂

  4. I remember my first ‘Paula and Nancy’ experience and it must have been about 4 years ago in Portland. I loved you both the first time and I can’t wait to see you the next time! Whohoo, just about a week!

Leave a Reply

